Jubilee Colliery Nature Reserve
T: +44 (0)161 624 1444
F: +44 (0)161 624 1555
Jubilee colliery was founded in 1845 to gain access to the Mountain Mine coal seam 325 feet (99 metres) below the surface. Originally owned by the Edge Lane and Dryclough Colliery Company, it was bought in 1883 by Platt Brothers & Co. Limited, since the coal was ideal for producing coke for use in the company’s iron works in Oldham, where 500 tons per week were used in 1900.
Since the colliery closed, the reserve has been run by groundwork Oldham and Rochdale and nature has moved back into the site. Trees, ferns, mosses, fungi and flowers have colonised the colliery remains and rubble, in turn attracting local wildlife to the area, so that Jubilee is now a doubly fascinating place to visit - to browse quietly or enjoy a picnic.
- Free Admission